Robalo Boating Forum

1973 190 COFFIN BOX

KWALDECK

post-328-1260412805_thumb.jpgpost-328-1260412989_thumb.jpgpost-328-1260413058_thumb.jpgpost-328-1260413115_thumb.jpg post-328-1260413134_thumb.jpg

I am installing an aftermarket tank ( Moeller 43 gal ) in my 1973 190 . I set the tank in the coffin box and discovered the coffin box is 2 inches deeper in to front than the back. If i secure the tank in the way it is now, will the tank sit level when the boat is in the water ? Moeller rep said it should be ok . I really don't want to do this twice . Any help would be great.

Thanks Mr. Robalo for the e-mail .

Sorry the pics are not the best. It's my first time with pics ....

IMG_0983.JPGIMG_0988.JPGIMG_0993.JPGIMG_0994.JPG IMG_0995.JPG

I am installing an aftermarket tank ( Moeller 43 gal ) in my 1973 190 . I set the tank in the coffin box and discovered the coffin box is 2 inches deeper in to front than the back. If i secure the tank in the way it is now, will the tank sit level when the boat is in the water ? Moeller rep said it should be ok . I really don't want to do this twice . Any help would be great.

Thanks Mr. Robalo for the e-mail .

Sorry the pics are not the best. It's my first time with pics ....

Pics are great . BUT I thought about this long and hard and I just don't remember a coffin box being lower in the front ??????

Actually no one has ever mentioned it before and wondering if someone before you modified it ??????

I would make it level if I were to reinstall it otherwise the pick-up would not work properly when low on fuel not to mention loosing prime in snotty water.

Lets see what others feelings are about this as I just can't see why it would be lower in front.

So I am finally in bed last night (12:30) and what is dancing through my mind a fuel tank????? So now I am thinking we had a few molds for the R190 and am wondering if it was done due to the deck slope???