Robalo Boating Forum
Hazzley

1970 19' Robalo

Hello!!!

I just joined the forum, having bought a 1970 19' Robalo this week. It is sea worthy but I plan on doing some restoration work to get it back looking its very best, although I have limited experience at this stage.

My first question would be about the transom which has been re-done and is now flush with the gunwales. I was wondering what the reason might have been for this and whether there are any positives / negatives to this modification?

Thanks!!

Edited by Hazzley

Hi Hazzley and welcome to the site!

Nice looking boat to be that old.  Can you post some  more pictures, including one of the transom so we can see what you are referring to.  Also have the picture with the motor trimmed to the normal running position so we can see where the cavitation plate on the lower unit is in relation to the bottom of the boat.

What I thought.  That boat was originally designed for a 20" shaft motor as that was standard size back then.  Looks like the prior owner got a decent deal on a standard length motor (25" shaft) around the time the transom needed rebuilding, so he built the transom to a height that would allow for it.  Downside, if you would call it that, is you no longer have the notched transom which would help drain the boat somewhat if a large wave came over the bow.  The good side, though, you don't have to worry as much about waves splashing into the motor well if anchored.  Just make sure your deck drains stay clear of obstructions.

Thank you for the information. I Really appreciate it! Have uploaded some more images. The entire deck is carpeted (which I want to remove).

There is some minor damage to the outer hull and I was wondering what the best way to do this might be? Also, what would be the best way to cover the holes in the console? I was hoping to find some wood panels?

C8A5308E-160F-47E0-BDA0-92A15B934C37.jpeg

AC926798-F398-4268-B598-0691EDF35059.jpeg