Robalo Boating Forum
Aqualung

Nervous Newbie

I would like to introduce myself, my name is Bob and I have a question, I was hoping some of you experienced guys could answer or make suggestions.

Keep in mind I have been boating for many years but never anything larger than an 18' :o

So the bigger boat scene is all new to me.

I am in the process of looking for a boat, I came across a 1995 2660 with twin 225 Mercs I have been told 160 hours on boat and motors, on a 2003 triple axle trailer. This boat is pretty much stock from what I understand, have been told the engines run fine, and the boat is overall is in excellent condition. I am hoping to go see this boat tomorrow, and was wondering if this boat has any common type problem(s) with this model that I should specifically look for. Also what would be consider a fair price for this boat?

Thanks in advance, and if everything goes well I hope to be able to say I own a Robalo ;)

boat033.JPG

boat029.JPG

Edited by Aqualung

Welcome and thanks for taking a walk down our cyber dock>

The R2660 was in production from about 1983-1995. However between 1993-95 they were not totally foam filled like they once were. The hull is a solid V entry with a soft rocker bottom in the stern. The rocker bottom helps the boat while at drift slide over a wave where a true deep V you kind of fall off the wave. The boat will preform great with the twins on the back and is very stable running on plain. Like a true cabin she does tend to wonder while trolling but no more than a competitive boat.

I personal don't know how well they we actually built after they sold to U S Marine as I left in 1993.

Some of the others should chime in here and shed a little more light on the subject . Good luck in buying it but I would recommend getting it surveyed and I believe you should be able to hook the motors up to a laptop and see all the stats?????